Virtual Museum of Art | Virtual Museum of History | Virtual Public Library | Virtual Science Center | Virtual Museum of Natural History | Virtual War Museum
   You are in: Virtual Public Library >> Hall of Philately >> NATIONAL BANK NOTE CO

American’s Four United Republics: Discovery-Based Curriculum

For More Information go to America's Four United Republics Curriculum


series of postage stamps was issued to commemorate the three hundredth anniversary of the settling of Walloons

From 1864 to 1878, all of Hawaii's postage stamps were printed by the National Bank Note Company of New York. Through most of the last half of the 19th Century American printing firms were consolidating, culminating in an 1879 consolidation of the National Bank Note Company, Continental Bank Note Company and American Bank Note Company with predecessor firms such as Rawdon, Wright, Hatch & Edson, Toppan and Carpenter and Company. Many United States specialists mistakenly think the NBNCo ceased to exist in 1873 and give Hawaii specialists a skeptical look when we talk about NBNCo stamps being printed as late as 1878. In 1873, the United States switched printers and replaced the NBNCo with Continental, but the NBNCo continued to produce Hawaiian stamps for six more years until both the NBNCo and Continental were swallowed by the ABNCo.

Numbering sequences used in most catalogues bear no relationship to the printing sequence. Cataloguers prefer to order things in ascending denomination. According to printing sequence, the nine Hawaiian stamps produced by the NBNCo are Scott Catalogue Nos. 30a, 30b, 31, 32, 33, 33a, 34, 35 and 36. Missing from this list are Scott Nos. 30 and 31a, both of which were printed after the American Bank Note Company merger, as were all of Hawaii's postage stamps beginning with Scott No. 37. For details of each stamp, press the links to their individual pages.

Scott No. 31


2¢ orange red Kamehameha IV

Scott No. 32


scott 32

1864 - 2¢ Kamehameha IV, orange red, Scott No. 31

1865 - 5¢ Kamehameha V, greenish blue, Scott No. 32



1¢ Princess Victoria Kamamalu, mauve

6¢ King Kamehameha V, yellow green

18¢ Kekuanaoa, burgundy

1¢ Princess Victoria Kamamalu, mauve,
Scott No. 30a

6¢ King Kamehameha V, yellow green,
Scott No. 33

18¢ Kekuanaoa, burgundy,
Scott No. 34



2¢ King Kalakaua, brown

12¢ Prince Leliohoku, black

2¢ King Kalakaua, brown, Scott No. 35

12¢ Prince Leliohoku, black, Scott No. 36


1¢ Princess Victoria Kamamalu, violet

6¢ King Kamehameha V, bluish green

1876 - 1¢ Princess Victoria Kamamalu, violet, Scott No. 30b (See 1871 stamps)

1878 - 6¢ King Kamehameha V, bluish green, Scott No. 33a (See 1871 stamps)

Start your search on NATIONAL BANK NOTE CO.

America's Four United Republics Exhibit - Click Here

Unauthorized Site: This site and its contents are not affiliated, connected, associated with or authorized by the individual, family, friends, or trademarked entities utilizing any part or the subject's entire name. Any official or affiliated sites that are related to this subject will be hyper linked below upon submission and Evisum, Inc. review.

Copyright© 2000 by Evisum Inc.TM. All rights reserved.
Evisum Inc.TM Privacy Policy


About Us



Image Use

Please join us in our mission to incorporate America's Four United Republics discovery-based curriculum into the classroom of every primary and secondary school in the United States of America by July 2, 2026, the nation’s 250th birthday. , the United States of America: We The People Click Here


Childhood & Family

Click Here


Historic Documents

Articles of Association

Articles of Confederation 1775

Articles of Confederation

Article the First

Coin Act

Declaration of Independence

Declaration of Independence

Emancipation Proclamation

Gettysburg Address

Monroe Doctrine

Northwest Ordinance

No Taxation Without Representation

Thanksgiving Proclamations

Mayflower Compact

Treaty of Paris 1763

Treaty of Paris 1783

Treaty of Versailles

United Nations Charter

United States In Congress Assembled

US Bill of Rights

United States Constitution

US Continental Congress

US Constitution of 1777

US Constitution of 1787

Virginia Declaration of Rights


Historic Events

Battle of New Orleans

Battle of Yorktown

Cabinet Room

Civil Rights Movement

Federalist Papers

Fort Duquesne

Fort Necessity

Fort Pitt

French and Indian War

Jumonville Glen

Manhattan Project

Stamp Act Congress

Underground Railroad

US Hospitality

US Presidency

Vietnam War

War of 1812

West Virginia Statehood

Woman Suffrage

World War I

World War II


Is it Real?

Declaration of

Digital Authentication
Click Here


America’s Four Republics
The More or Less United States

Continental Congress
U.C. Presidents

Peyton Randolph

Henry Middleton

Peyton Randolph

John Hancock


Continental Congress
U.S. Presidents

John Hancock

Henry Laurens

John Jay

Samuel Huntington


Constitution of 1777
U.S. Presidents

Samuel Huntington

Samuel Johnston
Elected but declined the office

Thomas McKean

John Hanson

Elias Boudinot

Thomas Mifflin

Richard Henry Lee

John Hancock
Chairman David Ramsay]

Nathaniel Gorham

Arthur St. Clair

Cyrus Griffin


Constitution of 1787
U.S. Presidents

George Washington 

John Adams
Federalist Party

Thomas Jefferson
Republican* Party

James Madison 
Republican* Party

James Monroe
Republican* Party

John Quincy Adams
Republican* Party
Whig Party

Andrew Jackson
Republican* Party
Democratic Party

Martin Van Buren
Democratic Party

William H. Harrison
Whig Party

John Tyler
Whig Party

James K. Polk
Democratic Party

David Atchison**
Democratic Party

Zachary Taylor
Whig Party

Millard Fillmore
Whig Party

Franklin Pierce
Democratic Party

James Buchanan
Democratic Party

Abraham Lincoln 
Republican Party

Jefferson Davis***
Democratic Party

Andrew Johnson
Republican Party

Ulysses S. Grant 
Republican Party

Rutherford B. Hayes
Republican Party

James A. Garfield
Republican Party

Chester Arthur 
Republican Party

Grover Cleveland
Democratic Party

Benjamin Harrison
Republican Party

Grover Cleveland 
Democratic Party

William McKinley
Republican Party

Theodore Roosevelt
Republican Party

William H. Taft 
Republican Party

Woodrow Wilson
Democratic Party

Warren G. Harding 
Republican Party

Calvin Coolidge
Republican Party

Herbert C. Hoover
Republican Party

Franklin D. Roosevelt
Democratic Party

Harry S. Truman
Democratic Party

Dwight D. Eisenhower
Republican Party

John F. Kennedy
Democratic Party

Lyndon B. Johnson 
Democratic Party 

Richard M. Nixon 
Republican Party

Gerald R. Ford 
Republican Party

James Earl Carter, Jr. 
Democratic Party

Ronald Wilson Reagan 
Republican Party

George H. W. Bush
Republican Party 

William Jefferson Clinton
Democratic Party

George W. Bush 
Republican Party

Barack H. Obama
Democratic Party

Please Visit

Forgotten Founders
Norwich, CT

Annapolis Continental
Congress Society

U.S. Presidency
& Hospitality

© Stan Klos





Virtual Museum of Art | Virtual Museum of History | Virtual Public Library | Virtual Science Center | Virtual Museum of Natural History | Virtual War Museum